The original house was a residence built in 1958 by local dentist S. M. Barrett. The brick and some of the materials used to build the house were salvaged from a brick school house in the small rural community of Eagle City (about 20 miles west). The house was unique in its day, having been custom built into the hilly terrain.
In 2007, Dr. Barrett sold the estate to his son, Andrew, who then spent two years updating the guestrooms and specific areas of the home in order to accommodate the bed and breakfast while maintaining the original design of the residence.
Chaparral Retreat & Guesthouse